Ohio State U Wins on Chautauqua Lake

CHAUTAUQUA, N.Y. (Aug. 23, 2014) – The Ohio State University team of Sidney Hoover of Findlay, Ohio, and Brett Warrick of  Westerville, Ohio, won the FLW College Fishing Northern Conference tournament on Chautauqua Lake Saturday with a five-bass limit weighing 17 pounds, 15 ounces. The victory earned the club $2,000 and advanced the team to the FLW College Fishing Northern Conference Invitational tournament on the Potomac River.
“We started off the morning fishing deeper for smallmouth and once it got bright we went and fished docks with Senkos,” said Warrick. “We had a limit of smallmouth, with two really good ones within the first two or three hours.
“The smallmouth area was a weedline,” explained Warrick. “I found it about a month ago. We went back there on the first day of practice and I caught a 4½-pounder and after that we just left it alone.”
The duo said that after filling their limit with smallmouth they caught three more big largemouth fishing docks with a Yamamoto Senko. They estimated that they caught about 12 keeper bass throughout the course of the day.
“It was pretty wild to win, and we executed really well today,” said Hoover. “We put in a pretty good effort in practice, so it’s nice to have it pay off.”
“I’ve been fishing BFL events as a co-angler for a while,” added Warrick. “That has absolutely helped me. It exposed me to a lot of techniques I wouldn’t have tried otherwise.”
The pair said that they caught most of their fish on a small green pumpkin-colored jig and a green pumpkin-colored 5-inch Yamamoto Senko.
The top 15 teams that advanced to the 2014 FLW College Fishing Northern Conference Invitational are:
  1st: Ohio State University – Sidney Hoover, Findlay Ohio, and Brett Warrick, Westerville, Ohio (five bass, 17-15, $2,000)
  2nd: State University of New York-Buffalo – Ronald Penders, Rochester, N.Y., and Morgon Fernaays, Buffalo, N.Y. (five bass, 16-6, $1,000)
  3rd: Michigan State University – Seth Gibson, Union City, Mich., and Ross Parsons, Dewitt, Mich. (five bass, 15-8, $500)
  4th: Slippery Rock University – Tyler Branca and Tyler Sheppard, both of Hermitage, Pa. (five bass, 15-3, $500)
  5th: Youngstown State University – Stan Miketa, New Middleton, Ohio, and Charles Cremeans, Youngstown, Ohio (five bass, 14-3, $500)
  6th: Kent State University – Trevor White, Newton Falls, Ohio, and Greg Perry, Cortland, Ohio (five bass, 13-4)
  7th: Michigan State University – Kenny Bennett, Sterling Heights, Mich., and Dylan Jones, Warren, Mich. (five bass, 13-3)
  8th: Central Michigan University – Blake Goodell, Traverse City, Mich., and Brian Bustamante, Dearborn, Mich. (five bass, 13-1)
  9th: Shippensburg University – Kevin Hollasch, Marriotsville, Md., and Hunter Chamberlin, Shippensburg, Pa. (five bass, 12-9)
  10th: University of Akron – Robert Webber, Elyria, Ohio, and Sean Connelly, Amsterdam, Ohio (five bass, 12-0)
  11th: Xavier University – Andrew Decilles, Batesville, Ind., and Alex Vaisvil, St. Charles, Ill. (five bass, 11-13)
  12th: Mansfield University – Bryan Rupp, Mansfield, Pa., and Colton Otto, Carlisle, Pa. (five bass, 11-9)
  13th: State University of New York-Plattsburgh – Brendan Bolis, Canton, N.Y., and Richard Lee, Port Kent, N.Y. (five bass, 11-7)
  14th: Northern Michigan University – Brody Layher, Grass Lake, Mich., and Justin Brown, Bear Lake, Mich. (five bass, 11-6)
  15th: Western Michigan University – Erik Rogoszewski, Dewitt, Mich., and Shandon Miller, Frankenmuth, Mich. (five bass, 11-5)
Complete results can be found at CollegeFishing.com.
FLW College Fishing teams compete in three qualifying events in one of five conferences – Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top 15 teams from each regular-season tournament will qualify for one of five conference invitational tournaments. The top 10 teams from each conference invitational tournament will advance to the 2015 FLW College Fishing National Championship.
College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time undergraduate students at a four-year college or university and members of a fishing club recognized by their college or university.
This FLW College Fishing Northern Conference tournament was hosted by the Chautauqua County Visitors Bureau. The Northern Conference Invitational tournament is scheduled for Oct. 11-12 at the Potomac River in Marbury, Md., and is hosted by the Charles County Board of Commissioners.
For regular updates, photos, tournament news and more, follow College Fishing on Facebook at Facebook.com/FLWFishing and on Twitter at Twitter.com/FLWFishing. Visit CollegeFishing.com to sign up or to start a club at your school.
FLW is the industry’s premier tournament-fishing organization, providing anglers of all skill levels the opportunity to compete for millions in prize money nationwide in 2014 over the course of 229 tournaments across five tournament circuits, four of which provide an avenue to the sport’s richest payday and most coveted championship trophy – the Forrest Wood Cup. FLW tournament fishing can be seen on the Emmy-nominated “FLW” television show and is broadcast to more than 564 million households worldwide, making it the most widely distributed weekly outdoors-sports television show in the world. For more information about FLW visit FLWOutdoors.com and look for FLW on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.